DuPage County holds inauguration for officials Monday

Share this article:

DuPage County was host to an inauguration ceremony Monday for 17 elected officials who were sworn into office.

DuPage County State’s attorney Robert Berlin presided over the event. DuPage County chairman Dan Cronin delivered his third inaugural address. Cronin was first elected to the office of County Board chairman in 2010.

“As we begin our new chapter in governing, I’m energized both by our achievements and by the challenges that lie ahead,” said Cronin. “I believe we can serve as a beacon of good government in a state that sorely needs a compelling example of county government that is responsive and responsible. We are called upon to be the leaders our residents’ need.”

County-wide elected officials, who were sworn in to serve four-year terms, included Cronin, Sheriff James Mendrick (see page 2), County clerk Jean Kaczmarek, treasurer Gwen Henry, and regional superintendent of schools Darlene Ruscitti.

The 12 DuPage County Board members elected in November will serve four-year terms. The following Board members took oaths of office Monday:

• District 1: Ashley Selmon and Sam Tornatore;

• District 2: Elizabeth Chaplin and Peter DiCianni;

• District 3: Greg Hart and Julie Renehan;

• District 4: Grant Eckhoff and Mary FitzGerald Ozog;

• District 5: Sadia Covert and Dawn DeSart;

• District 6: Sheila Rutledge and James Zay.

Chaplin, DiCianni, Eckhoff, Hart, Tornatore, and Zay are incumbents. The other six are new members of the Board.
— DuPage County

Leave a Reply